Support articles

How to add a private message for your recipients:
To add a private message:
  1. From your Google Form, open the add-on
  2. Add a static or dynamic recipient
  3. Next to your recipient, click the 'More' icon
  4. Select 'other recipient settings'
  5. Enter a private message for the recipient
The private message will only be sent to this recipient.
How to change the role of your recipients:
To change the role type:
  1. From your Google Form, open the add-on
  2. Add a static or dynamic recipient
  3. Next to your recipient, click the 'More' icon
  4. Select 'other recipient settings'
  5. Select the role that you require. The table below outlines the role types.
The application will default to 'Needs to Approve' if no other role type is selected.
Recipients with this role type... ...can do the following
Needs to Approve Approve, decline, or request more info* from the requestor. Approve will move the workflow to the next level. Decline will send the workflow back to the requestor for re-submission. Request more info will send the workflow back to the requestor.
Needs to Recommend Recommend, not recommend, or request more info* from the requestor. Recommend and not recommend will both move the workflow to the next level. Request more info will send the workflow back to the requestor.
Needs to Acknowledge Acknowledge receipt of the request.
Needs to Action Confirm when a task associated with the request has been completed.
Needs to Edit Edit the original form submission, or request more info* from the requestor. Editing the form submission will move the workflow to the next level (if applicable). Request more info will send the workflow back to the requestor for re-submission.
Receives a Copy Receives a copy of the request only. No action is required.
* The "Request more information" button will only be displayed when 'Collect email addresses' is enabled in your Google Form settings.
Things to know when using the "Needs to Edit" role type:
  • The "Needs to Edit" role must have a unique position in the receiving order (e.g a workflow with two recipients cannot be sent in parallel order if one recipient is an Editor). Learn how to change the receiving order.
  • Google Forms does not provide us the ability to determine who made the edit, so the add-on will check to see whose turn it is in the workflow and then proceed according to the following:
    • If the workflow is currently awaiting the response of a recipient with role "Needs to Edit", it will assume it is him / her editing the form, accept the edit and proceed to the next recipient.
    • If the workflow is currently awaiting the response of any another recipient type, it will assume the edit has been made by the Requestor and, to maintain the integrity of the request, it will restart the workflow from the beginning.
  • If you have 'Restrict to users in [Your Domain] and trusted domains' enabled in your Google Forms settings, Google Forms will automatically update the requestor's email address to that of the recipient who edited the request. Therefore, we recommend disabling this setting when using the 'Needs to Edit' role type.
  • The workflow route is set when the first form submission is made by the requestor. If you need subsequent recipients to add recipients or change the route of a workflow, we recommend adding a 'place holder' static recipient within your workflow, and have the recipient 'amend' the place holder recipient using the Actions button on the tracking page. To enable this, ensure 'Allow recipients to amend recipients' is enabled in the Settings tab of the add-on.
What's next: